National Assembly Standing Committee on States and Frontier Regions (Safron) Met Today : AsiaNet-Pakistan

National Assembly Standing Committee on States and Frontier Regions (Safron) Met Today

March 20, 2019 | General, Official News | Share:

Islamabad, March 20, 2019 (PPI-OT): The National Assembly Standing Committee on States and Frontier Regions (SAFRON) met today at 11:00 AM in Committee Room of old PIPS Hall, Parliament Lodges, Islamabad, under the Chairmanship of Mr. Sajid Khan, MNA. The Secretary while giving briefing regarding erstwhile FATA, apprised the Law makers that after the 25th Constitutional amendment, the Federally Administered Tribal Areas and Provincially Administered Tribal Areas (erstwhile PATA) merged in the province of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and therefore, the President Islamic Republic of Pakistan or the Federation cannot make regulations for erstwhile FATA anymore. He further informed that all the functions performed by the erstwhile FATA Secretariat, its Secretaries and Directorates also transferred to the concerned departments of Government of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

2. The Secretary, Ministry of SAFRON while giving briefing regarding Federal Levies and Khasadar Force, informed the Committee that after repealing the Regulation of 2012, the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Government promulgated two Ordinances on 12th March, 2019 (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa ORD.NO.I of 2019) and the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Khasadar Force (Maintenance, Regulation and Protection of Service) (Transition) Ordinance ORD.No.II of 2019 and therefore the two said forces stands Provincialized and the Ministry of SAFRON has no role anymore in respect of the two said forces. Thereafter, the Committee recommended that Secretary, Home department and Tribal Affairs of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa would be invited in the next meeting to brief the Committee of the steps are being taken with regard to the future status of the Khasadar Force.

3. The Chief Commissioner, Afghan Refugees also briefed the Committee about the mandate and functions of the Chief Commissionerate for Afghan Refugees and Provincial Commissionerates at the provincial Headquarters in detail.

4. The meeting was attended by MNAs: Mr. Saleh Muhammad, Mr. Shahid Ahmad, Mr. Gul Dad Khan, Mr. Abdul Shakoor Shad, Ms. Aliya Hamza Malik, Nawabzada Shah Zain Bugti, Syed Iftikhar Ul Hassan and Mr. Muhammad Afzal Khokhar and Officers/Officials of the Ministry and its attached Departments.

For more information, contact:
National Assembly of Pakistan
Automation Centre,
National Assembly Secretariat,
Parliament House,
Islamabad – Pakistan
Tel: +92-51-9221082-83
Fax: +92-51-9221106


Category: General, Official News