Parliamentary Committee on Kashmir meets - AsiaNet-Pakistan

Parliamentary Committee on Kashmir meets

May 10, 2019 | General, Official News | Share:

Islamabad, May 10, 2019 (PPI-OT): The 3rd Meeting of the Parliamentary Committee on Kashmir was held today, at Parliament House, Islamabad under the Chairmanship of Syed Fakhar Imam, MNA. The Committee was briefed by the Foreign Minister, Makhdoom Shah Mahmood Hussain Qureshi about the latest situation of Kashmir dispute with historical background and future strategy of the Government.

2. As per agenda the Foreign Minister briefed the Committee in detail regarding the Kashmir dispute with historical background as well as a future strategy. He also shared with the Committee, the efforts of the present government and the achievements they have made so far particularly reports of the UN Human Rights Commission, report of the All-Party Parliamentary Kashmir group UK and report of the debate discussed on Kashmir in the House of Commons. In these reports first ever in the history the UN Human Rights Commission categorically asked the India to repeal its draconian laws and gross violations of human rights with systematic impunity given through Public Safety Act 1978 and Armed Forces (Jammu and Kashmir) Special Powers Act 1990.

3. While appreciating the briefing of the Foreign Minister the Chairman said that besides making all efforts to highlight the Kashmir issue effectively on all important forums we may also care about our economy because a stable and strengthen economy provide us an opportunity to stand firmly on our ideology and principled stand about the Kashmir and other international challenges. He further said a commission of inquiry to conduct a comprehensive independent international investigation into allegations of human rights violations in Kashmir is inevitable to stop Indian oppression and it is a matter of grave concern that only in the month of April, 2019, 13 Kashmiri were martyred by the Indian Armed Forces and 2018 remained the deadliest year for the Kashmiris as the number of martyred crossed the figure of 500 in this year alone.

4. The Honorable Members also raised different questions regarding the government policy for the Kashmir, the Foreign Minister replied as far the future strategy is concerned we are patiently waiting for the election results of the Indian sides and who so ever will be forming the government we shall try to engage them to the peaceful solution for the core issue of Kashmir. The Chairman and the Committee also extended their full support to the Foreign Minister for his future engagements, he mentioned in his briefing. The Chairman also pointed out a large number of arrest of Kashmiri Hurriyat leaders particularly the precarious health condition of Mr. Yasin Malik who has been detained by the National Investigation Agency (NIA) basically to crush the struggle of the Kashmiris for their right of self determination. The Committee completely expressed their political, moral and diplomatic support to the Kashmiri people for their just struggle of self determination. The meeting was concluded with a vote of thanks to all the participants and expect that Committee will continue to work for this national cause till its amicable solution.

5. The meeting was attended by the Hon. Members Ms. Nuzhat Pathan, Mr. Muhammad Akram, Mr. Aurangzeb Khan Khichi, Ms. Sobia Kamal Khan, Mr. Muhammad Amjad Farooq Khan Khosa, Ms. Ghazala Saifi, Mr. Muhammad Sana Ullah Khan Masti Khel, Ms. Uzma Riaz, Syed Makhdoomzada Basit Ahmed Sultan, Ms. Naureen Farooq Ibrahim Khan, Mr. Khurram Dastgir Khan, Ms. Zaib Jaffar, Syed Mehmood Shah, Raja Pervaiz Ashraf, Nawabzada Iftakhar Ahmed Khan Babar, MNAs, Senator Mushahidullah Khan, Senator Sherry Rehman, Senator Mohsin Aziz, and Senator Muhammad Ali Khan Saif, special invitee Makhdoom Shah Mahmood Hussain Qureshi, Foreign Affairs and the Secretary, Ministry of Kashmir Affairs and Gilgit Baltistan and senior Officers of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs were also present in the meeting.

For more information, contact:
National Assembly of Pakistan
Automation Centre,
National Assembly Secretariat,
Parliament House,
Islamabad – Pakistan
Tel: +92-51-9221082-83
Fax: +92-51-9221106


Category: General, Official News