Pakistan elected to Commonwealth Ministerial Action Group : AsiaNet-Pakistan

Pakistan elected to Commonwealth Ministerial Action Group

November 17, 2013 | Government Institutions | Share:

Islamabad, November 17, 2013 (PPI-OT): Pakistan has been elected to the Commonwealth Ministerial Action Group (CMAG). The decision was taken at the Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting (CHOGM) in Colombo today. This is the first time that Pakistan would be serving on this Commonwealth body.

The CMAG is a key ministerial policy forum which is entrusted with the task of promoting Commonwealth values and principles of democracy, rule of law, peace, freedom and opportunity for all. It comprises eight members plus the CHOGM chair in office as an ex-officio member. Besides Pakistan, Cyprus, Guyana, India, New Zealand, Solomon Islands and Sri Lanka joined Sierra Leone and Tanzania as new members of CMAG. The members are elected for a maximum two terms of two years each.

For more information, contact:
Mr. Aizaz Ahmad Ch
Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Government of Pakistan
Tell: 051-9205494
Fax: 051-9204202
Cell: 0336-5644459


Category: Government Institutions